Zion Train / Universal Egg

A Passage to Indica

Zion Train


Zion Train - A Passage To Indica

This LP was recorded partially in Harlesden at the then home of DJ Perch and partially in the then brand new studio space in Seven Sisters - London, The Wibbly Wobbly World of Music. It was written on an Alesis MMT-8 Sequencer, an Alesis HR16 Drum Machine, a Roland JD-800 a Yamaha DX11 and an Akai S-950 sampler. The bass on this and all subsequent LPs up to 'Love Revolutionaries' was from self created patch on a Korg M3R (A rackmoumted M1 essentially).

The effects used were an Alesis Quadraverb+, an Alesis Midiverb II, 2 ART Multiverbs and an ancient Evans analogue Delay which was given to ZT by Robert Charlesworth.

Some of it was mixed on a Yamaha rack mounted mixer with 2 aux sends and the mixes were finished on a Studiomaster 24-8-2 which was a 16 track with an extra 8 track section added on, this had 4 aux's. The Studiomaster was bought from Keety Roots of Black Legacy records who had used it on some of his classic cuts with Napthali and Tena Stelin

As with all ZT releases around this time there is no 'live' playing of anything, all instrumentation is programmed. Throughout the making of this LP ZT were operating the studio commercially and teaching themselves to be studio engineers.

During the making of this LP ZT were educated, by Dougie Wardrop from Conscious Sounds, in the ways of Jamaican mixing. One key element of which is the routing of effects returns back up audio channels on the desk in order for them to be 'properly' fed back on themselves. This is a fact that many 'Rock' mixers are unaware of and which leads to them being unable to create an 'authentic' feedback sound.

The concept for the LP is based around a journey to a place where marijuana can be smoked, it could be Amsterdam or anywhere in the World that you can smoke without fear. The CD of this release features only two IDs for the LP sides and one each for the extra tracks. This was an idea which ZT thought was cool at the time but has been adapted for the remastered version released in 2005.

The extra tracks are the A and B sides of our first two singles and two bonus dubs that are featured nowhere else.

The LP was remastered and reissued as a double LP package (including the original cd bonus tracks for 2005).

Tracklist and Further Info

1. Shining Light Steppers

2. Plunging Into Darkness

3. Earthrush

4. Watching Deep Water

5. Customs Check

6. Daybreak

7. Arrival

8. Burning Indica

9. Power One Dub Power

10. Power two Dub To Power

11. Revival

12. Sending Out A Positive Message

All tracks (cod, tench, perch)